New Zealand 2 270

This post is mostly about plugging Sarah’s “Famous People Who Studied Abroad” blog, finding me a famous friend, and reminiscing about studying abroad.  Here’s the link to Sarah’s blog: http://www.sarahmcnitt.net/studyabroadpeople.php

Are you famous or do you know anyone who is famous?  Did you/they also study abroad?  If so, you should let Sarah know so she can add you to the list.  Also, if you are reading this and you are famous (and a pretty cool person) you should be my friend so I can tell people I know a famous person.  I’m pretty sure knowing someone famous makes you cool.  I want to be cool.

I’m not famous (yet), but I did study abroad when I was an undergrad.  It’s been 9 years since I studied abroad.  I spent the spring semester of my junior year (2004) studying at Victoria University (Vic Uni) in Wellington, New Zealand.  Some of you reading this may have met me during my time in New Zealand.  Many more of you reading this may have studied abroad somewhere else.  For those of you who did study abroad during your college years, where did you go?  Why?  What are some of your best memories of your time spent studying abroad?  For those who didn’t study abroad, why did you choose not to?  Where would you have gone if you had studied abroad?  Where have you traveled to since college that you would recommend to current undergrads?

One of my favorite memories of studying abroad was waking up and looking out my window at the city of Wellington below me (sometimes I woke up earlier than I wanted to because the rec center behind our building would be blasting Britney Spear’s “Toxic” at 6 am.  I will never get that song out of my head).  Now I usually wake up to a noisy kitty staring at me.  The picture above is the view from my bedroom window in Wellington.

