So, our honeymoon plans for this summer have changed.  We are no longer planning to go to Ireland.  However, we still intend to go to Ireland next summer for our first anniversary if we can.  So we’re really just postponing the trip a bit.  Instead of a long and expensive international honeymoon, we have decided to go on a shorter and cheaper honeymoon closer to home.

We’d like to spend our honeymoon on Mackinac Island.  We were thinking of making it a three or four day trip in mid July.  I haven’t been on the island in years and each time it was with family and we stayed in bed & breakfasts.  I’d like to do something a bit more upscale and romantic.  Sarah has always wanted to stay at the Grand Hotel and I’d like to make that dream come true.  However, a three night honeymoon package at the Grand Hotel is $2500: http://www.grandhotel.com/celebrations/anniversaries-honeymoons.  I really like the package.  It has everything we could want and more.  And I don’t think the price is unreasonable for what it includes, but I just don’t think we can afford it right now.  Does anyone know of any deals or discounts for the Grand Hotel?

Alternatively, what other arrangements would you suggest if the Grand Hotel doesn’t work out?  Bed and breakfast?  Renting a cottage?  Another hotel?  Staying in St. Ignace or Mackinaw City?  The bed and breakfasts seem like they aren’t very private for a honeymoon and cottages tend to rent for longer periods of time to larger groups of people.  Most of the other nice hotels on the island are also rather expensive.  St. Ignace or Mackinaw City would certainly be cheaper, but would we be sacrificing too much pampered upscale romance stuff to save some money?

Also, what suggestions do you have for things to do?  Where are the good places to eat?  I like the idea of carriage rides and romantic dinners overlooking the straits, but I’m not sure what else there is to do other than things I enjoyed as a kid (stuffing my face with fudge, checking out the fort, bike rides around the island).  Are there interesting things to do off the island?  I’ve been to all the historical sites and museums in St. Ignace and Mackinaw City, and I’d prefer not to drag Sarah through a boring history tour of the area.  On the way to or from Mackinac I was already planning to do a romantic drive along M119 (the tunnel of trees) that leads to Cross Village and having lunch or dinner at Legs Inn on the bluff overlooking the lake.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

