If you do a Google Image search for “winter,” “spring,” “summer,” and “fall,” these are the first images that appear for each:

I feel like this is a fairly good, general pictoral representation of what I think of for each season.  So, which season is your favorite?  How do you rank them?  This is easy for me: spring, summer, fall, winter.  Winter is the worst.  This has always been how I’ve ranked them.

Spring, for me, represents rebirth, the return of warmth, and longer days.  Summer is full of life, sunshine, and outdoor fun.  But then everything starts to take a turn for the worse.  The days get shorter and colder.  Most living things run away to places where fall/winter doesn’t happen or they hibernate/die.  Then it gets really cold and dark, and everything is muddy and frozen.

Sometimes people tell me, “you’ll be wishing it was winter when it’s 100 degrees and humid as hell this summer.”  Nope.  I may complain about the heat and humidity like everyone else does in the summer, but I still prefer it over winter.  I will always take too hot over too cold.

For me, fall and winter represent dying and death.  Why celebrate or wish for that?  Give me blazing unbearable heat and humidity instead.  You may have a different impression/interpretation of the seasons, and that’s fine, but this is what I think of when I think of each season.  Impressions and opinions will obviously vary depending on geography and personal experience.  Growing up in the Midwest I’m used to 4 distinct seasons.  As a child, winter was more enjoyable.  Blizzards meant no school and opportunities for sledding, snow forts, and snowball fights.  As an adult, winter is a hassle.  Driving is difficult and driveways need shoveling.

I hate winter.  I wish it was over.

