The back of my Twinings Earl Grey tea bag packet contains the following statement (yes, I’m the type of person who reads the back of tea bag packets):

Twinings has been blending my family tea for years.  Today, I am proud to continue this tradition with the tea celebrated throughout the world known as Twinings Earl Grey.  Legend has it, that my ancestor, the second Earl Grey, was presented with this exquisite recipe by an envoy on his return from China.

The sixth Earl Grey

So, being the weirdo that I am, I decided to look this guy up.  This sixth Earl Grey person is still alive today: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Grey,_6th_Earl_Grey .   Aaaaaaand, he’s also the current president of, wait for it, the Cremation Society of Great Britain.  That’s right, there’s a whole society in Great Britain that does nothing but advocate for the cremation of human remains.  Ever look closely at the contents of your tea bag?  Kinda looks like ash doesn’t it?  It doesn’t really,  but my guess is that I probably just ruined a few of your tea drinking experiences for a while.  You’re welcome.

This got me thinking about the potential stories behind other beloved beverages (and foods) that are named after people.  I think I need to go read the back of a can of Arnold Palmer.

