I am a nerd.  There.  I admit it.  I’ve probably always had somewhat of a nerdy side, but it has recently taken on a whole new dimension.  I’ve started playing Dungeons & Dragons.  You know, that game of make believe that those weird dorky kids in junior high played.  It’s actually a lot of fun to play as an adult.  I often get so caught up in doing grown up stuff that I forget to have fun and play every once in a while.  This game combines a number of interesting components that I find interesting: a strong imagination and sense of adventure, a supportive and fun social environment, difficult decision making and planning, and snacks.

I can see why people get into this game.  It sucks you into an imaginary world that you and a bunch of your friends all helped to create together.  Playing make believe and using your imagination is fun.  Playing make belive and using your imagination with a bunch of other people is even more fun.  I think this game gives you some real insight into peoples’ personalities.  You can learn a lot about a person based on the character they create and the decisions they make throughout the game.  Has anyone ever done a socialogical or psychological study on D&D?

So, if you’ve been hesitant about playing this game in the past (for whatever reason) I suggest getting some friends together and giving it a try.  Nerding out is fun!

