It’s that time of year again.  That’s right, it’s Jayne Hat weather (https://jmsprague.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/jayne-hat-weather/).  When the weather gets a bit chilly I like to cook big batches of food.  This time last year I posted about making applesauce (https://jmsprague.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/making-applesauce-the-hard-way/).  Well, I made applesauce again.  Last weekend I found a new, and equally difficult, way to make applesauce.  First, I’ll recap how to make applesauce.

Get lots of apples.

Get annoying stickers off apples.

Wash apples.

Put some water in a pot.

Add sugar.

Add cinnamon.

Here’s where things differ from the last time I made applesauce.  Instead of peeling and coring the apples I just cut them up into manageable pieces (skin, seeds, and all!).

The reason….

Food mill!  This sophisticated piece of machinery was my great grandmother’s.  So it’ s over 100 years old.  You’re probably unfamiliar with this contraption, even if you own a food mill.  This is because modern food mills use things like electricity and gears, and are made of plastic.  Not this food mill.  This one is a perforated piece of aluminum with a stick.  As you will see, it didn’t make making applesauce any easier or cleaner.

After slicing the apples they go into the pot.  In this case I had to use 2 pots…

…and then 3.

Turn the burner on medium or medium/low, put the lid on the pot(s), and let the apples cook until they get good and mushy.

The food mill should go over a large bowl to catch (most of) the applesauce.

Pour the contents of the pot into the food mill a few large spoonfuls at a time.

I don’t drain any of the liquid off beforehand because I like my applesauce a little soupy.  But it’s up to you.  After dumping the apples in you just pound and press them with the big stick.  The applesauce goes through the holes into the bowl and the seeds and skins stay in the food mill.  Every once in a while dump out the contents of the food mill and add more apples.  After a while you will have a sore arm, a bowl full of applesauce…

…and a big mess.

It made quite a lot of applesauce.  It’s not as smooth as using the immersion blender, but not as chunky as using a potato masher.

It takes a while and is rather tiring, so I’m not sure it’s worth it.  Plus, when you are done you then have to deal with the extensive clean up.

On a side note, Zoey just learned how to jump on the back of the futon.  I’m not sure what took her so long to figure this out, but I’m so proud.

