I don’t understand or care much about fashion.  The fashion industry is a multibillion dollar industry.  Fashion shows, magazines, TV shows, and retailers bring in billions and billions of dollars every year.  Why?  Someone must care about these things.  Someone must be buying these products, going to these events, and watching these shows.  It’s not me.  It’s not anyone I know (or at least know very well).  Do these sort of things only cater to a certain demographic; the rich perhaps?

When I go to the store to buy clothing I am looking for something durable, comfortable, and cheap.  What it looks like factors into the decision, but it doesn’t play a large role.  Brand name has almost nothing to do with it.  I will avoid certain brands because of comfort or expense.  For instance, I don’t buy Nike shoes.  I have nothing against the brand or the company.  The shoes are just too narrow for my feet and they are usually rather expensive.

Although I don’t care much about my own fashion statement (I’m very much a jeans and t-shirt sort of person) I do notice it in others.  And I do have some opinions about it, but they are pretty basic and straight forward.  For many people clothes are a primary means of expression.  It can be an important way to either fit in or stand out.

Miami University is a good case study when it comes to fashion.  If you are reading this, and you are a current Miami undergraduate student, there is a 100% chance you are wearing a North Face (Is it one word or two?  I don’t own one.) jacket.  A few years ago, back in Oxford, I got on the bus and noticed that 10 of the 12 people were wearing the exact same North Face jacket.  They were all the same color, black.

The last time I was back in Oxford we were waiting for a table at a breakfast restaurant (Morning Sun if you care).  The three “bros” in front of us were all wearing sweatpants.  I don’t know if my girlfriend pointed this out, or if I noticed it on my own, but suddenly I was aware that everyone was wearing sweatpants, or leggings, or pajama pants with stupid sayings written on them.  When did this trend begin?  And please make it stop.

During my time at Miami University I noticed a distinct difference between the sexes when it came to dressing themselves.  The women tend to over do it.  The men tend to under do it.

The women would dress in miniskirts and 72 inch heels on a regular basis.  Even when it’s the middle of February and it’s -359 degrees you will see them walking down the street with no coat.  Crazy.

The men look like they just walked out of the gym and haven’t showered in 4 years.  Baseball caps, grubby torn t-shirts and gym shorts is the average attire.  Filthy.

What’s weird is seeing a typical Miami woman and a typical Miami man walking down the street together.  They couldn’t be more different.  She looks as if it took 6 hours to get ready and they were going to a fancy ball instead of Skyline Chili.  He looks as if he’s been playing video games in his dorm room for those same 6 hours while eating Cheetos and scratching his balls.

There doesn’t seem to be a happy medium.  And no one seems to be wearing real pants.

