I was at the Old Capital Museum in downtown Iowa City last night to experience a performative lecture by American Indian artist James Luna.  It was my first time in the building and I was quite impressed.  It’s a pretty nifty (I’m bringing nifty back) building from both the inside and outside.  I’ve been in Iowa City for 3 months now and I’ve walked by Iowa City’s most iconic landmark dozens of times without going inside (the building is across the street from my office).  I’ll have to do the whole museum tour thing sometime soon.

Anyway, the lecture was in the old Senate Chamber (the irony was not lost on Luna).  He made a grand entrance and then proceeded to talk/perform for nearly 2 hours.  He showed us a number of pictures and videos of his performances and installations.  I had no idea who he was prior to this event.  I’m not sure I’m any closer today.  He’s brilliantly weird.  He intentionally challenges and subverts common stereotypes and narratives about native people.  Of course, he does this in very colorful and provocative ways.

I think I’ll just leave it at that.  His work speaks for itself.  So, here’s a couple of Youtube videos I found of some of his work.  I was surprised at how few there were.

