My mom reads my blog.  That makes me cool.

My mom also gave me a great granola recipe.  I used to follow a recipe I got off the internet, but it never turned out right.  I’ve been using my mom’s recipe for years and it always turns out just the way I like it.  The important thing to remember when following one of my mom’s recipes is to deviate from it.  I will now share that recipe (that you are not allowed to strictly follow!) with you.

Here are the ingredients:

  • 3 c. reg. rolled oats
  • ½ c. diced walnuts or pecans (whatever nuts are in the house)
  • ½ c. sunflower seeds
  • ¼ c. sesame seeds
  • ½ c. pumpkin seeds
  • ½ c. shredded coconut
  • ¼ – ½ c. wheat germ
  • ¼ c. all-purpose flour
  • ¼ c. nonfat dry milk
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 ½ -2 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ c. vegetable oil (or canola oil)
  • ½ c. honey (or syrup)
  • ½ tsp. salt

As you’ve probably learned by now, the first step is to artfully arrange all the ingredients so you can take a pretty picture.

The next thing I usually do is to chop up the nuts.

before

after

Then, in a large bowl combine all dry ingredients

Doesn't that look cool. That separation was difficult to pull off.

and stir.

Pour in oil and then honey (or syrup).

Mix well.

Spray 9 x 13 pan with oil.  Pour in pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 min.

When it’s done it should look like this:

Let it cool for a while before eating.  Otherwise you will burn your face off.

Granola lasts forever and is easy to store.  I have a bowl of vanilla yogurt with berries and granola every morning.

Granola is not only a wonderful breakfast food, but also a derogatory(?) name for dirty hippies.  Dirty hippies often eat granola.  Let that one sink in for a minute.

