Cabinda is a magical land where it is always 75 degrees and sunny.  The land is filled with adorable and friendly creatures; and people spend their days in relaxation before retiring to their castles to sip hot cocoa and watch unlimited Dinosaur reruns.

This is how I had imagined Cabinda up until today.  It was ruined by a quick Wikipedia search: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cabinda_Province (apparently the real Cabinda sucks)

I should probably provide you with some context before you think I am completely crazy.  Don’t worry, by the end of this blog post you will once again believe I am completely crazy.

My shower curtain is a map of the world.

On this map are a number of odd labels.  Some are simply misspellings.

Others, I’m convinced, must be completely made up.

There is just no way Flin Flon Saskatchewan is a real place!

So when I came across this:

I just assumed it was another error.  After all, I had never heard of Cabinda, and the rather large label did not appear to correspond to an actual country or city in the area.  It must be wrong.  This offered my imagination the opportunity to run wild.  What if there was a place called Cabinda?  What would it be like?  So I invented a whole new place called Cabinda in my mind.  This wouldn’t be the first time I’ve invented a country by the way.

In 6th grade another student (who will remain nameless to save him the embarrassment) and I created Quaalahongah for a class assignment.

You’re probably asking yourself:  “Why does he still have an assignment he did in 6th grade (and how do I get my hands on a copy)?”

This is why:

Maybe some of us did our best work in middle school and are damn proud of it.

So, to make a weird story short, I was a little upset when I found out about the real Cabinda.  I liked my Cabinda better.

Originally I was going to write about why we should legalize polygamy in this country.  Aren’t you glad I didn’t?

