In addition to my frybread adventure last night (I heated one up this morning and put some of grandma’s homemade strawberry jam on it.  Delicious!) I also made a cream of mushroom soup from my Julia Child cookbook.

The first step is to artfully arrange all the ingredients so that you can take a picture of them.

Then, try to feed Julia Child some butter.

This is an important step.  One needs to appease Julia’s spirit or else the recipe won’t turn out right.

The next step is to saute one whole diced white onion with 4 tbsp of butter over medium heat.

Then, add 1/4 cup of flour.

After adding the flour wave your magic butter stick wand around and say the magic words: “be soup.”  And before you know it…SOUP!

I kind of got sick of taking pictures after adding the flour.  After adding the flour slowly stir in one can of chicken broth or stock (whichever one you happen to have around).  Make sure to heat it up beforehand.  I don’t know why, that’s just what Julia wrote.  Then add 6 cups of milk and as many mushrooms as you have.  AS MANY MUSHROOMS AS YOU HAVE.  Then, sprinkle in some dried Tarragon.  The smell will be awesome.  Let the whole thing simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally and playing Scrabble on your phone.  Then add some heavy cream, a few drops of lemon juice, salt, and pepper, and briefly simmer again.  At this point do not try to eat the soup.  It is very hot and you will burn your tongue.  Let it cool down.

I find soups to be very easy and fun to make.  You can be creative and almost anything can go into a soup.  This is helpful when you are limited in the ingredients that are available.  Hy-Vee here in Coralville doesn’t have the best selection or quality of produce and the co-op is too expensive ($9 for a can of cooking spray!).  It is also helpful to have a few good cookbooks to refer to.  I rarely ever follow a recipe word for word, but it is good to at least have a base to work off of.  The internet is good for recipes so you don’t necessarily need to go out and buy a book.  However, I am old fashioned and like having the book in front of me while I cook.  Sarah was kind enough to give me my Native American cookbook as well as my Julia Child cookbook.  They are certainly the ones I use the most often and I’m very grateful for the gifts.

Blog post complete!

