I hate Columbus Day.  I hate it because I don’t get any mail.  I like getting mail.

To celebrate Columbus Day I decided to make frybread for the first time.  I got the recipe from my Native American cookbook.

It’s real simple.  There are only 5 ingredients (quantity/proportions will vary by recipe and how many you wish to make):

  • flour
  • baking powder
  • salt
  • warm milk/water
  • oil

Put all the ingredients except the oil in a mixing bowl.

After you have placed all the ingredients in the bowl, knead the dough until your hands look like this

This is what the dough should look like

Rub the top of your ball of sticky dough with some oil and then cover it with plastic wrap.

Let the dough ball sit for around a half hour while you watch the Tigers lose a baseball game.  Then the fun begins.  Grab a clump of dough and pat it against your hand until it is about an eighth of an inch thick.  The little dough pattie you just made should be about the size of your hand.

Place the dough pattie into a pan of hot oil.

After a little while flip the pattie over with tongs.  Do NOT try to flip it with a spatula like you would a pancake.  You may end up with hot oil splatter everywhere.

When the frybread is done place it on a plate covered in paper towel.  Repeat until all your dough is gone.

When you are done take silly pictures of yourself eating frybread.

All the frybread you just made will make your apartment smell delicious.

I also made a cream of mushroom soup from my Julia Child cookbook, but I will save that blog post for tomorrow.

For more Columbus Day fun read this:

http://www.racialicious.com/2011/10/10/an-open-letter-to-urban-outfitters-on-columbus-day/trackback/

